• Ozone therapy was regulated as “complementary therapy”.
  • It can be practiced in the public and private sector in “outpatient establishments”
  • With Honduras, there are already 15 countries that have included ozone therapy in their legislation.
  • Until 1990, no country in the world had legislated on ozone therapy. Today there are 15.


Ozone therapy can be practiced in Honduras, both in the public and private sectors in “outpatient establishments”. These are ” health service provider establishments ” that offer “hospitalization of no more than twelve hours, attended by one or more health professionals who carry out activities that are restricted to outpatient clinical care, or the performance of diagnostic, therapeutic or of rehabilitation that do not require hospitalization of more than twelve hours.” (art. 4, Agreement 1578-2019).

Ozone therapy was classified as “complementary therapy” in accordance with Table I of article 6 of Agreement 1578-2019, where the economic amounts (“recovery fees”) are specified that the outpatient clinic, which has the necessary conditions, and the experienced professionals must pay to the State. to apply ozone therapy, to obtain the health license for the first time or to renew it or modify it.

Agreement 1578-2109 was approved on June 5, 2019 by the Secretary of State in the Health Office [minister of health].

It was published in the Official Newspaper “La Gaceta”, No. 35016, Section A (Agreements and Laws) on August 7, 2019, and entered into force 20 days after its publication in the Official Newspaper “”La Gaceta”.


The 15 countries in the world that have regulated ozone therapy


Until 1990 there was no country that had legislation on ozone therapy. From 1991 the situation began to change.

There are already 15 countries where ozone therapy has been regulated throughout the country or in parts of it:

  1. Greece (1991 and 2014). First country in the world to regularize ozone therapy.

  2. Ukraine (2001 and 2014). Second country in the world to regularize it.

  3. Italy (2003, 2007 and 2009). three regions.

  4. 4.China (2005).

  5. Russia (2005 and 2007).

  6. Spain (between 2007 and 2012). 15 autonomous communities.

  7. Cuba (2009 and 2015).

  8. Sultanate of Oman (2010).

  9. United Arab Emirates (2011). Dubai city.

  10. Portugal (2013-2014).

  11. Türkiye (2014).

  12. Brazil (2015, 2018, 2020 and 2023).

  13. México (2018). Two states.

  14. Honduras (2019).

  15. 15.Venezuela (2020).

This content is also available in: Spanish